Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Naval Architecture - Try These First |
|
| Engineering village | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1884-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - comprises 22+ million records describing research articles from 5,000+ engineering journals, conference proceedings, theses, patents & technical reports - covers all aspects of engineering & applied sciences. | |
| Materials science & engineering collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1950-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers new technologies & engineering research: civil, mechanical, chemical, environmental, energy, safety & transportation + engineering materials: metals, alloys, polymers, engineered ceramics, composites, biomaterials, corrosion, recycling, welding, etc - comprises 35+ million records describing journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, technical reports & other grey literature - includes 20+ million full-text resources. | |
| TRID : the TRIS and ITRD database | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1923-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - includes 1,090,000+ records describing published research from the U.S., Canadian & international transportation sources - covers journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, books & environmental impact statements - covers all modes & disciplines of transportation: Aviation, Highway, Marine Transportation, Motor Carriers, Pedestrians & Bicyclists, Pipelines, transit, Public Transportation, Railroads -- more than 156,000 records contain links to full-text documents. | |
Naval Architecture - More Specifically |
|
| Abstracts in new technology & engineering | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1981-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts -- monitors U.K. & U.S. publications on computing technologies, electronics, medical technology, engineering (chemical, civil, electrical, food, marine, mechanical, petroleum) -- covers 350 trade & academic periodicals + conference proceedings, technical reports, books. | |
| ASME digital collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - covers papers/chapters published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers: aerospace, applied mechanics, biomechanical & biomedical, boilers & pressure vessels, building & construction, power & fuels, design, dynamic systems & control, energy, environmental. fluids, heat transfer, internal combustion engines, manufacturing & processing, nanotechnology, noise control & acoustics, nondestructive evaluation, nuclear engineering, ocean, offshore & arctic engineering, pipeline & piping systems, renewable energy, robotics & mechatronics, transportation, tribology - Access full-text of all ASME journals [1960- ] & conferences [2002- ] + ASME Press books [1993- ]. | |
| IHS engineering360 | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current available online: |
|
| Search Engine - critical engineering content, information, insight, tools & community for engineers & technical professionals - News & Analysis: authoritative coverage of industry/market news, insights & critical information - Products & Suppliers: data on 122 million parts from suppliers across the industrial sector, searchable by specification - Reference Library: access 95 million engineering documents, technical articles, reports, publications, patents & e-books - Standards Directory - Engineering Community: offering forums, blogs & related resources. | |
| Nautical Mind | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1990-present available online: |
|
| Sale listings - Canadian marine bookseller & chart agent: books, e-books, charts & DVDs on boating & seamanship, ship / boat design & construction, cruising guides, navigation charts + professional texts for seafarers & the shipping industry. | |
| Oceanic abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1981-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, Abstracts - Oceanography: marine & brackish-water environments, Physical & chemical oceanography, Marine geology, geophysics & geochemistry, Marine pollution, Meteorology & Climatology, Nonliving marine resources, Navigation and communications, Maritime law, Ships & Shipping - 450,000+ records covering worldwide technical literature: journal articles, reports, etc. | |
| Regs4ships | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text -- searchable database comprising shipping & maritime codes, regulations, legislation & documents from the International Maritime Organization [IMO], International Labour Organization, European Union + Maritime & Coastguard Agency & other U.K. government departments. | |
| Science.gov : USA.gov for science | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Search engine, full-text - Federated search of 45+ databases and 2000+ websites from 14 U.S. federal agencies - Covers journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings & other published materials - Subjects: agriculture, applied sciences, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, communication, earth & ocean sciences, energy, environment, medicine, mathematics, physics. | |
| Sea Grant publications catalog | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1967-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - 49,000+ records describing Sea Grant-funded documents; 23,000+ available in full-text - cover oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, ship construction & nautical science - find topical full-text collections in Digital Libraries & Special Searches. | |
| SNAME technical papers | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1893-present available online: |
|
| Index - technical papers from the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers' main publications. | |
Naval Architecture - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic search complete | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| Catalog of U.S. government publications | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1789-present available online: |
|
| Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992]. | |
| DART-Europe E-theses portal | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1602-present available online |
|
| Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database. | |
| Federal Science Library | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1600-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - search library records from Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Environment & Climate Change Canada, Fisheries & Oceans Canada [WAVES], Health Canada, National Research Council Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Public Health Agency of Canada - covers books & e-books, journals & e-journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, standards … on environmental, physical & life sciences, fisheries & aquaculture, food & agriculture, earth sciences, forestry, geology, engineering & applied sciences, ocean & nautical sciences, technology, medicine & health sciences, business. | |
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links. | |
| IsisCB explore | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1974-2014 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises several hundred thousand citations describing works in the history of science - core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science - covers all fields of science, mathematics & engineering. | |
| Journal citation reports | |
|
Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories. | |
| Journal TOCs | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current issues available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher. | |
| Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976 | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1895-1976 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more . | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. | |
| WorldCat | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded. | |
| WorldWideScience.org | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1930-present coverage available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts -- Global science gateway cross-searching 100+ U.S. & international scientific databases from over 70 countries - Covers fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment & basic sciences - links to full-text when available. | |