Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Library and information Science - Try These First |
|
| Library & information science source | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1905-present available online: |
|
| This database offers full text and indexing for English and foreign-language periodicals, journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, library school theses, books and more. Subject coverage encompasses librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. In addition, the database provides comprehensive coverage of the history of library studies, and access to author profiles, including information on 5,000 of the most-frequently indexed authors. | |
| Library science database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1970-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 1.4+ million records describing articles from scholarly & trade journals, magazines, blogs, podcasts & websites, dissertations & reports relevant to the theoretical & applied study of library science -- provides full-text content from 245+ core journals indexed by Library & Information Science Abstracts (LISA). | |
| Periodicals index online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665-2000 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects. | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. | |
Library and information Science - More Specifically |
|
| ACM guide to computing literature | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1947-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing - comprises 2.6+ million records describing journal articles, books, conference papers, dissertations, theses & technical reports from the Association for Computing Machinery and 3,000+ other computing publishers - includes all content from the ACM Full-Text Collection ++ citations with links, where possible, to other computing publications. | |
| Canadian business & current affairs database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present. | |
| Digital Commons network | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology. | |
| E-LIS : E-prints in library and information science | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1952-present available online: |
|
| Full-text - Open access archive for published and unpublished documents on librarianship, information science and technology, and related fields. | |
| Education database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1988-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, some full-text - Covers the field of education: primary, secondary, and higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, & hundreds of related topics - access over 1,090 top educational publications, including more than 800 of the titles in full text. | |
| ERIC : [via ProQuest] | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1966-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 1.6+ million records (370,000 with full-text) describing information sources on teaching, learning & research in education: journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses & dissertations, research reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, monographs - many ERIC documents [labeled ED] are available online ; others are stored in microfiche in the QEII Library, Room-L1012. NOTE: The number of actively cataloged sources will be reduced by approximately 45% starting April 24, 2025, by order of the U.S. Department of Government Efficiency. | |
| History of the Book in Canada = L'Histoire du livre et de l'imprimé au Canada | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprehensively catalogues publications on the history of print culture in Canada - Covers the practices of the printing & publishing industries, the history of print materials from their creation and production through distribution to reception by readers, the history of institutions, such as libraries, and their relationship to published works, the interconnections of manuscript, print, & electronic materials, and the economic, cultural, political, & societal influences that have affected the development of print culture in Canada. | |
| NISO standards and publications | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1992-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - covers current & draft standards for information coding & exchange: NISO standards apply to both traditional & new technologies and to information across its whole lifecycle, from creation through documentation, use, repurposing, storage, metadata & preservation. | |
| PRIMO : peer-reviewed instructional materials online database | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 2001-present available online: |
|
| Full-text - peer-reviewed instructional materials created by librarians to teach people about discovering, accessing and evaluating information in networked environments - tutorials cover a wide variety of topics from a general overview of the research process to the specifics of how to navigate a psychology database. | |
| ProQuest ebook central | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects. | |
| Science.gov : USA.gov for science | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Search engine, full-text - Federated search of 45+ databases and 2000+ websites from 14 U.S. federal agencies - Covers journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings & other published materials - Subjects: agriculture, applied sciences, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, communication, earth & ocean sciences, energy, environment, medicine, mathematics, physics. | |
| Ulrichsweb : global serials directory | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665-present available online : |
|
| Catalogue - authoritative international source for bibliographic & publisher information for 300,000+ currently published & discontinued periodicals: academic, scholarly or peer-reviewed journals, open access titles, popular magazines, newspapers & more covers 900+ subject areas - records include ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting, indexing or full-text database coverage, tables of contents, reviews, frequency, subscription prices (including free). | |
Library and information Science - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic search complete | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| American doctoral dissertations | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1902-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed. | |
| BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1200-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text. | |
| Catalog of U.S. government publications | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1789-present available online: |
|
| Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992]. | |
| DART-Europe E-theses portal | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1602-present available online |
|
| Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database. | |
| ERIC : [Education Resources Information Center] | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1966-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 1.6+ million records (370,000 with full-text) describing information sources on teaching, learning & research in education: journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses & dissertations, research reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, monographs - many ERIC documents [labeled ED] are available online ; others are stored in microfiche in the QEII Library, Room-L1012. NOTE: The number of actively cataloged sources will be reduced by approximately 45% starting April 24, 2025, by order of the U.S. Department of Government Efficiency. | |
| Federal Science Library | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1600-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - search library records from Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Environment & Climate Change Canada, Fisheries & Oceans Canada [WAVES], Health Canada, National Research Council Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Public Health Agency of Canada - covers books & e-books, journals & e-journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, standards … on environmental, physical & life sciences, fisheries & aquaculture, food & agriculture, earth sciences, forestry, geology, engineering & applied sciences, ocean & nautical sciences, technology, medicine & health sciences, business. | |
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links. | |
| Journal citation reports | |
|
Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories. | |
| Journal TOCs | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current issues available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher. | |
| Library, information science & technology abstracts | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1965-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers articles from 700+ journals, as well as books, research reports and conference proceedings - topics include librarianship, classification, cataloguing, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. | |
| Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976 | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1895-1976 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more . | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| Periodicals archive online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1802-2002 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities. | |
| Web of science. SciELO citation index | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences. | |
| WorldCat | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded. | |