Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Indigenous Studies - Try These First |
|
| America : history and life | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1910-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers history & culture of the United States & Canada, prehistory to the present - citations describe articles from 1,700+ academic & popular journals + books, theses, conference papers, book / media reviews. ("Historical Abstracts" covers history of other countries). | |
| Anthropology plus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Late 1800s-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers journal articles; reports; commentaries; edited works; obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, & linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies - 885,000+ articles from 2,5000 journals indexed. | |
| Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1700-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - covers all aspects of Indigenous North American culture, history and life, 16th century to present. An essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal and medical researchers, linguists, theologians and policy makers. | |
| Canadian business & current affairs database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present. | |
| Indigenous Peoples of North America | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Indigenous Peoples of North America provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. Researchers will explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. These are the primary sources that take students beyond the facts and figures of history and into a deeper understanding of Indigenous Peoples. | |
| Indigenous studies portal | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Variable Coverage - Over 25,000 records - Covers electronic resources on indigenous people and studies worldwide - Includes books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, and more. | |
Indigenous Studies - More Specifically |
|
| ADA: Arctic Discovery and Access | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Records describing peer-reviewed publications, government and industry reports, conference proceedings, posters, news articles, photos, maps, field journals, films, and descriptions of field research projects related to northern Canada and the circumpolar Arctic. Subjects include marine, biological and health sciences, engineering, technology, politics, economics, social conditions, land use, Indigenous peoples, traditional knowledge, archaeology, history, art, and literature. Also searches the Arctic Institute of North America's archives, special collections, and artwork, which includes paintings, drawings, sculpture, artefacts, and faunal materials. | |
| Alternative press index | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1969-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 900,000+ records describing journal, newspaper, & magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals - provides access to emerging theories & practices of radical social change, socialism and revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. | |
| AnthroSource | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1880-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - covers 300,000+ articles from journals, newsletters, bulletins & monographs published by the American Anthropological Association. | |
| Arctic & Antarctic regions | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1800-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Over 1 million records - describing articles, reports and books on cold regions. Covers temperate latitudes with cold winters, to the Himalayas and the poles. | |
| Arctic health publications database | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - bibliographic information with links to full-text journal articles, reports, newspapers, conference proceedings, grey literature, and other documents and non-print materials -covers health issues of northern peoples. | |
| Colonial state papers | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1574-1757 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - two important research tools as one service: 1) access 7,000+ digitized primary source documents covering English activities in the American, Canadian & West Indian colonies during the 16th-18th centuries (Privy Council ... Colonial Papers; CO 1) ; 2) Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America & the West Indies ... comprising 40,000+ bibliographic records for documents from CO 1 & many other sources - document types: letters of commission, petitions, articles of peace, lists of vessels & goods, reports of exploration, complaints of disputes & more. | |
| Ethnographic Video Online : Vols. I & II: Foundational Films | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
User Guide |
| Index, video - visual encyclopedia of human behavior & culture comprising 1,300+ hours of streaming video: ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films & previously unpublished fieldwork - includes footage from every continent & hundreds of unique cultures - topics: ethnographic methodologies, language & culture, food, foraging & cooking, social stratification & status, kinship & families, migration & conflict, religion & belief systems, music, dance & art, etc. | |
| Héritage | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1600-1979 available online |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - online access to popular Canadian archival microfilm collections from Library and Archives Canada - encompasses 30+ million pages of primary-source documents: records from federal departments, agencies & crown corporations + aboriginal affairs + administrative & service records of military institutions & conflicts + private papers from individuals / organizations supporting politics, labour, social justice, arts & literature, sports & recreation + detailed genealogical files, indexes & other records chronicling settlement, land ownership, family history & community life. | |
| Linguistics & language behavior abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1973-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - International coverage of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, geographical & anthropological linguistics & language sciences: phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, discourse analysis, nonverbal communication, learning disabilities, psycholinguistics - Includes 460,000+ descriptions of journal articles, books / chapters, reviews, & dissertations - Thesaurus comprising 3,700+ index terms available online. | |
| Linguistics abstracts online | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1985-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - comprises 120,000+ abstracts describing scholarly articles from 800 linguistics journals - essential tool for linguistics scholars: writing papers, preparing teaching materials, compiling bibliographies, checking references, keeping up-to-date with emerging trends & important developments in the field. | |
| Native American ethnobotany : a database of food, drugs, dyes, and fibers of native North American peoples derived from plants | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Index - comprises 44,700+ records describing journal articles, books / chapters, reports on uses of plants by native North American peoples including foods, drugs, dyes and fibers - 291 Native American groups ; 4,029 species from 243 different plant families - includes links to species datasheets in US Department of Agriculture PLANTS database. | |
| Native health database | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1770-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Records describing health and medical-related articles, reports, surveys & other documents about North American Indigenous populations: American Indians, Alaska Natives & Canadian First Nations, Inuit, and Metis. Includes physical & psychological medicine as well as anthropological & administrative aspects of aboriginal health. | |
| PAB : Newfoundland periodical article bibliography | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1668-present available online: |
|
| Index - Bibliography covering more than 90,000 periodical articles relating to Newfoundland and Labrador -- Maintained by the Centre for Newfoundland Studies, Memorial University Libraries. | |
| PAIS index | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1915-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index – Covers international policy-oriented literature. Subjects: economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international relations, social policy, the environment, demography, public health, science, and technology. | |
| Social work abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1966-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, Abstracts - covers research sources for social work, including theory, practice, areas of service, social issues, therapy, education, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, and civil and legal rights. | |
| Sociological abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1952-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Records describing journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Subjects: crime, demography, ethnic relations, family and social welfare, substance abuse, social planning, social psychology, violence. | |
| Trove | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text – Australia’s free online research portal. A collaboration between the National Library of Australia and libraries, universities, museums, and archives. Includes digital copies of newspapers, books, photographs, archival and government documents, maps, and more. Can also be used to locate physical copies held in Australia. | |
Indigenous Studies - Also to Consider |
|
| ABC CLIO eBook collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1991-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - covers 900+ online encyclopedias covering historical & cultural topics: American & world history + current events & issues, geography & world cultures, popular culture, folklore & mythology, religion, society & education, gender studies, crime & punishment, politics, law & government, business, the environment, physical & mental health. | |
| Academic search complete | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - a multi-disciplinary database providing access to millions of articles from thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. | |
| Academic video online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Index, streaming video – Videos in all fields of study and research. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners. & Peabody winners. | |
| American doctoral dissertations | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1902-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - Record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century, many with links to full-text. | |
| Catalog of U.S. government publications | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1789-present available online: |
|
| Index, selected full-text - Records for current and historical publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government, with links to many online publications. The database is updated daily and offers optional searches of records in the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials, and the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992]. | |
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search engine – Coverage of scholarly literature in all disciplines, from academic publishers and organizations. Current Memorial students, faculty, and staff can set up full-text links in Google Scholar settings. In the Library Links box, search for Memorial University of Newfoundland – Get it @ Memorial. | |
| Journal citation reports | |
|
Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories. | |
| Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976 | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1895-1976 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index – Records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies. Covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science, technology, transportation, infrastructure, and more. | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts – Records for academic journals, books, and conference proceedings published worldwide. Covers science, engineering, medicine, social science, social work, arts, and humanities. Includes Scopus AI. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts – Records for academic journals, books, and conference proceedings published worldwide. Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes Research Assistant, an AI tool. | |
| Web of science. SciELO citation index | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts – Cited references from hundreds of open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: agricultural sciences; applied social science; biological sciences; engineering; exact and earth sciences; health sciences; linguistics, letters and arts; mathematics; physics; and social sciences. Includes Research Assistant, an AI tool. | |
| WorldCat | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - World's largest library catalogue comprising millions of bibliographic records describing materials in libraries world-wide. Locate books, music, videos, maps, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items, and which libraries own them. Items not held by Memorial Libraries can be requested via Document Delivery. | |