Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Health Sciences - Try These First |
|
| CINAHL plus with full text | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1937-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Abstracts, full-text - covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines - 3 million records from 4,500+ journals, selected health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters - provides 770 full text e-journals and 240 e-books | |
| EMBASE | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1966-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index and Abstracts - Over 11 million records from EMBASE; 7 million records from MEDLINE - Covers pharmacological and biomedical research literature. | |
| PubMed | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1948-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 24 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals - Covers medicine, biomedicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences - Includes links to databases and related resources from NCBI - Links to articles available though Memorial University Libraries have been added. | |
Health Sciences - More Specifically |
|
| Acland's video atlas of human anatomy | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Includes real life 3D human anatomy videos for human and gross anatomy courses, labs and self-directed, online learning. | |
| APA PsycInfo | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1840-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - the American Psychological Association's renowned resource for peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science & mental health - Over 3 million records describing scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, reports, & dissertations. | |
| Bates' visual guide to physical examination | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Includes videos featuring step-by-step, head-to-toe, and systems-based physical examination techniques. | |
| Cochrane library : evidence for health care decision-making | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1996-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Variable Coverage - Consists mainly of 6 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews; Database of abstracts of reviews of effects; Cochrane central register of controlled trials; Cochrane methodology register; Health technology assessment database; NHS economic evaluation database. | |
| Consumer health database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1950-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 9.8+ million records describing articles from important general medical journals + strong selection of consumer & trade health magazines + news sources - provides international coverage of public health subjects: pandemics, sports injuries, women's health, food & nutrition, midwifery, eye care, dentistry, disaster preparedness & more - includes online full-text from 450 magazines, newspapers, wire feeds, scholarly journals & trade publications + over 300 health video clips from INTELECOM. | |
| Coronavirus research database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2020-present available online: |
|
| Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic. | |
| CPS Full Access | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| The CPS is Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy by the Canadian Pharmacist's Association (CPhA) . It provides online access to evidence-based, reliable Canadian drug and therapeutic information. | |
| désLibris | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - Open Access Documents from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres & other public interest groups - This collection represents the leading edge of primary research and opinion in all areas of Canadian public policy and health and medical research. | |
| Disabilities in society, seventeenth to twentieth century | |
Coverage: |
|
| Disabilities in Society, Seventeenth to Twentieth Century demonstrates how society has presented and treated individuals with disabilities historically. Materials in this collection include personal memoirs, records of treatments, methods of education, and forms of remediation. Reports and proceedings of organisations and institutions that sought to help or heal those with disabilities are included, as well as records of policies and programs. Through this collection, researchers will grasp the many forms of institutional discrimination, political exclusion, and social control under which disabled individuals struggled. Materials chronicle how individuals were classified and treated and how some overcame physical or mental challenges to defy perceptions of being disabled. | |
| Global Health Observatory (GHO) data | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 2002-present available online: |
|
| Index, data - gateway to health-related statistics from around the world: access health data / metadata for 194 countries; compile / verify major sources of health data; download / display data sets for selected indicators, health topics; present scientifically sound information + GHO analytical reports on priority health issues + GHO theme pages on global health priorities: women & health, mortality & burden of disease, disease outbreaks, health equity, health systems. | |
| Health & medical collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1969-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - medical information resource comprising 7 million records describing articles from 3,600+ scholarly/trade journals (over 3,000 available in full-text) - covers major medical sciences, clinical & healthcare disciplines - also includes 9 million full-text stories from medical newswires + charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos & other graphical elements essential to medical research. | |
| INIS repository | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1946-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 3.8+ million records describing journal articles, research & development reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations & standards on nuclear science & technology + environmental, economic & health effects of nuclear energy: nuclear reactors, reactor safety, nuclear fusion, nuclear chemistry, nuclear physics, materials science + applications of radiation & radioisotopes in medicine, agriculture, industry & pest control. | |
| Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Access restricted to MUN users. |
|
| The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports. Subject Area Nodes: Evidence organized into health care area/specialties. Only information specific to that health topic is included in each database. | |
| MedSask | |
| Internet access restricted to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| medSask supports appropriate prescribing and medication safety in Saskatchewan by providing accurate, evidence-based information on medications and medication therapy to the general public, healthcare providers, and other stakeholders. | |
| NatMed Pro | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2013-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - up-to-date authoritative resource covering 90,000+ dietary supplements, natural medicines and complementary, alternative & integrative therapies - each brand name product report summarizes safety, effectiveness, dosing, adverse effects, toxicology, interactions, pharmacokinetics + evidence for each ingredient contained in the product and more - comprises several databases: Food, Herbs & Supplements, Health & Wellness, Sports Medicine, Comparative Effectiveness, Manufacturers, Commercial Products & Medical Conditions. | |
| Newfoundland and Labrador health bibliography | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1630, 1856-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises records describing journal articles, books/chapters, theses, anecdotal pieces, case reports & scholarly research concerning health, disease, medical conditions, health education & medical care in Newfoundland & Labrador - items listed in the NLHB are available at the Health Sciences Library. | |
| NRC Research Press journals | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1929-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - 30+ current/ceased Canadian scholarly science/technology journals; most available in full-text - covers a broad range of biological & physical science, engineering & applied sciences disciplines - most articles from NRC Research Press journals (1951-2010) are freely available to all Canadians. | |
| Ovid MEDLINE | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Bibliographic database from National Library of Medicine covering all areas of medicine including veterinary medicine, nursing, allied health, dentistry and pre-clinical sciences. | |
| Practice-based evidence in nutrition : PEN | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| PEN is a fully searchable, full-text database of information about dietetics, developed from key practice questions and evidence-based answers, with links to tools and resources consistent with the evidence. Knowledge pathways are grouped under four broad Practice Categories: Population Health/Lifecycle; Health Condition/Disease; Food/Nutrients; Professional Practice. | |
| PTSDpubs | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: |
|
| PTSDpubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events. | |
| SPIE digital library | |
Coverage: |
|
| Contains full-text papers on optics and photonics from SPIE journals, proceedings, and ebooks published since 1990. Approximately 15,000 new papers will be added each year. | |
| SPORTDiscus with full text | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1800-present available online: |
|
| Variable Coverage - Full text for over 550 journals - International coverage of sport, sport medicine and law, fitness and recreation - Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, theses, websites, and audiovisual items. | |
| UpToDate Lexidrug | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2015-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - collection of clinical databases & decision support tools covering Canadian, U.S. & generic drug names -- clinical databases include: Lexi-Drugs, AHFS Essentials (Adult and Pediatric), AHFS DI (Adult and Pediatric), Pediatric & Neonatal Lexi-Drugs, Geriatric Lexi-Drugs, Patient Education, Pregnancy & Lactation, Infectious Diseases, Drug Allergy & Idiosyncratic Reactions, Natural Products, Pharmacogenomics, Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics, Lexi-Tox Toxicology & Drugs MSDS, Laboratory & diagnostic procedures, Off-label Drug Information, Calculators, Martindale : the complete drug reference. | |
Health Sciences - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic search complete | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links. | |
| Google scholar : [open access] | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - Open access version for remote, non-MUN users. | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| PubMed : [open access] | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1948-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Variable coverage - Over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals - Covers medicine, biomedicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences - Includes links to databases and related resources from NCBI - Links to articles available though Memorial University Libraries have been added. [OPEN ACCESS version for REMOTE, NON-MUN users]. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. | |
| Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities. | |
| Web of science. SciELO citation index | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences. | |