Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Earth Sciences - Try These First |
|
| GeoRef | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1669-present (North America); 1933-present (rest of the world) available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - 3.4+ million records describing articles from 3,500 journals as well as books/chapters, maps, geological survey documents & society reports, conference papers, theses / dissertations, etc. - covers all the geosciences: areal, economic, engineering, environmental, extraterrestrial, structural & surficial geology, geochemistry & geophysics, hydrogeology & hydrology, marine geology & oceanography, mineralogy & crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology & stratigraphy. | |
| PANGAEA : publishing network for geoscientific & environmental data | |
|
Coverage: 2000-present available online: |
|
| Catalogue - information system to archive, publish and distribute data from global change research with special emphasis on paleoclimatic, marine and environmental sciences. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. | |
Earth Sciences - More Specifically |
|
| AAPG datapages | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - access to all publications from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists: journal articles, books / chapters, conference papers / abstracts, guide-books, etc + similar publications from ~40 petroleum geology societies from around the world. | |
| Agricultural & environmental science collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1660-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - cross-disciplinary resource indexing the global literature of environmental sciences & agricultural research - covers academic & trade journal articles, conference proceedings, government publications, technical reports, working papers, magazines, newspapers, wire feeds & other resources - full text is provided for much of AESD's content. | |
| Arctic & Antarctic regions | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1800-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Over 1 million records - describing articles, reports and books on cold regions. Covers temperate latitudes with cold winters, to the Himalayas and the poles. | |
| Arctic Science and Technology Information System : ASTIS = Système d'information sur les sciences et les technologies arctique : SISTA | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 83,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers, theses, books, government reports, etc. on northern Canada & the circumpolar Arctic - subjects: earth sciences, biological & health sciences, engineering & technology, marine areas, politics, economic & social conditions, land use, indigenous peoples, traditional knowledge, archaeology, history, art & literature. | |
| Astrophysics data system | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1500-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers astronomy, astrophysics, planetary sciences, solar physics & geophysics - comprises 11.8+ million bibliographic records describing journal articles, conference, books/chapters , technical reports - ADS also searches e-print records published in the ArXiv database. | |
| Bibliography of Asian studies | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia - comprises 900,000+ records describing western-language journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. pertaining to East, Southeast & South Asia - Subjects: philosophy, religion, literature, history, fine arts, music, theatre, architecture, anthropology, archaeology, economics, politics, sociology, environmental sciences, public health & medicine. | |
| Canadian business & current affairs database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present. | |
| Digital Commons network | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology. | |
| Encyclopedia of life support systems | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2004-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - compendium of twenty multi-volume encyclopedias covering trans-disciplinary relationships between nature & human society - disciplinary & interdisciplinary articles cover environmental & health aspects of the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, engineering & technology ; discuss effective approaches for managing natural resources like renewable & non-renewable energy, biodiversity, ecology, hydrology, health, agriculture & more. | |
| Engineering village | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1884-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - comprises 22+ million records describing research articles from 5,000+ engineering journals, conference proceedings, theses, patents & technical reports - covers all aspects of engineering & applied sciences. | |
| GEOSCAN | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1843-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - includes 60,000+ records describing scientific publications from the Geological Survey of Canada, the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing, Canadian topographic maps and outside publications by staff from Natural Resources Canada Earth Science Sector [ESS] - provides links to publications available online or for free download. | |
| GeoScienceWorld | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1890-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - access scholarly journals produced by leading earth science societies & research institutes - offers specialized & graphical searching capabilities which are linked & inter-operable with the GeoRef bibliographic search database - MUN Libraries offer full-text access to GSW journals only. | |
| GreenFILE | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1910-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 538,000+ records describing well-researched scholarly articles, government & industry reports, & general-interest publications concerning human impacts on the environment - Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, environmental education, law, health &technology - Includes Open Access full text for more than 5,800 items. | |
| IEEE Xplore | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Full content 1988-present ; select IEEE content 1913-1987; select IET content 1965-1987 available online: |
User Guide |
| Standards and Full Text - Over 1 million full text articles from over 12,000 publications - Includes access to literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related fields - Contains IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. | |
| INIS repository | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1946-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 3.8+ million records describing journal articles, research & development reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations & standards on nuclear science & technology + environmental, economic & health effects of nuclear energy: nuclear reactors, reactor safety, nuclear fusion, nuclear chemistry, nuclear physics, materials science + applications of radiation & radioisotopes in medicine, agriculture, industry & pest control. | |
| Knovel | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1975-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Full-text - Content from 3,600 leading engineering reference works & databases covering 28 technology subjects unmatched depth & breadth of validated engineering content aggregated from 90+ international publishers & professional societies - data analytics enable detailed property & material/substance searches. | |
| Lyell collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1811-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - covers all publications from the Geological Society [of London] & related organizations: Journals, Transactions, Proceedings, Special Publications & Memoirs - more than 200 years of geological information covering the world, with emphasis on Great Britain, Ireland and the former colonies. | |
| NRC Research Press journals | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1929-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - 30+ current/ceased Canadian scholarly science/technology journals; most available in full-text - covers a broad range of biological & physical science, engineering & applied sciences disciplines - most articles from NRC Research Press journals (1951-2010) are freely available to all Canadians. | |
| Oceanic abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1981-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, Abstracts - Oceanography: marine & brackish-water environments, Physical & chemical oceanography, Marine geology, geophysics & geochemistry, Marine pollution, Meteorology & Climatology, Nonliving marine resources, Navigation and communications, Maritime law, Ships & Shipping - 450,000+ records covering worldwide technical literature: journal articles, reports, etc. | |
| OnePetro | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1927-present [varies for each publisher] available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - Approx. 130,000 conference papers, journal articles, & technical documents from the oil and gas exploration and production industry - Includes documents from the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), the Offshore Technology Conference (OTC), International Society of Offshore and Polar Engineers (ISOPE), World Petroleum Council (WPC) and others. | |
| ProQuest ebook central | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects. | |
| Science.gov : USA.gov for science | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Search engine, full-text - Federated search of 45+ databases and 2000+ websites from 14 U.S. federal agencies - Covers journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings & other published materials - Subjects: agriculture, applied sciences, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, communication, earth & ocean sciences, energy, environment, medicine, mathematics, physics. | |
| SciFinder | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1907-present available online: |
|
| Index, Full Text Links - Over 10,000 journals and patents from more than 61 patent authorities - Searches Chemical Abstracts and other databases, including Medline - Covers many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more - Also includes organic and inorganic substance information. | |
| SEG digital library | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1936-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - technical articles from SEG journals & technical symposia, SEG ebooks, and Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Geophysics. | |
| Society for Sedimentary Geology: SEPM | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1927-present available online: |
|
| "SEPM (Society for Sedimentary Geology) is an international not-for-profit Society. Through its network of international members, the Society is dedicated to the dissemination of scientific information on sedimentology, stratigraphy, paleontology, environmental sciences, marine geology, hydrogeology, and many additional related specialties." | |
| SPRILIB : a polar and glaciological bibliographic database | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1602-present available online: |
|
| Index and Abstracts - Over 120,000 records - Covers literature relating to the Arctic, Antarctic, and snow and ice throughout the world - Includes articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, government documents, and other reports - Comprises three databases: SPRILIB Antarctica, SPRILIB Ice and Snow, and SPRILIB Russian North. | |
| Technical report archive and image library : TRAIL | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1800-1975 available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - access 40,000+U.S. federal scientific / technical reports issued prior to 1975 - search by series, date, subject or author - title records provide links to full-text available through the HathiTrust. | |
Earth Sciences - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic search complete | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| Academic video online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners. | |
| American doctoral dissertations | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1902-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed. | |
| Annual reviews | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1932-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises thousands of useful, intelligent syntheses covering significant primary research literature from 45 disciplines in the biological, medical, physical & social sciences - comprehensive, timely critical reviews that identify the principal contributions of any field and help researchers maintain current awareness in their field. | |
| BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1200-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text. | |
| Catalog of U.S. government publications | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1789-present available online: |
|
| Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992]. | |
| DART-Europe E-theses portal | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1602-present available online |
|
| Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database. | |
| Dialnet | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Index - Over 2 million records in over 5,000 periodicals - Contains Spanish academic journals, theses and books in all fields of study - Limited full text and theses are available. | |
| Federal Science Library | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1600-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - search library records from Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Environment & Climate Change Canada, Fisheries & Oceans Canada [WAVES], Health Canada, National Research Council Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Public Health Agency of Canada - covers books & e-books, journals & e-journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, standards … on environmental, physical & life sciences, fisheries & aquaculture, food & agriculture, earth sciences, forestry, geology, engineering & applied sciences, ocean & nautical sciences, technology, medicine & health sciences, business. | |
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links. | |
| Google scholar : [open access] | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - Open access version for remote, non-MUN users. | |
| IsisCB explore | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1974-2014 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises several hundred thousand citations describing works in the history of science - core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science - covers all fields of science, mathematics & engineering. | |
| Journal citation reports | |
|
Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories. | |
| Journal TOCs | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current issues available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher. | |
| Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976 | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1895-1976 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more . | |
| National Academies Press | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1930-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - 9,000 full-text books & technical reports from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering & Medicine - authoritative information on important matters in the social, biological, physical & applied sciences, engineering, medicine, business & education. | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| Publications warehouse | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1880-present available online: |
|
| Variable coverage (some full text) - Over 75,000 citations - Covers publications of the United States Geological Survey (USGS) - Includes articles, books, book chapters, reports, maps, and other publications. | |
| Trove | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites. | |
| Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities. | |
| Web of science. SciELO citation index | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences. | |
| WorldCat | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded. | |
| WorldWideScience.org | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1930-present coverage available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts -- Global science gateway cross-searching 100+ U.S. & international scientific databases from over 70 countries - Covers fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment & basic sciences - links to full-text when available. | |