Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Art Images - Try These First |
|
| ARTstor | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Images - 1,000,000+ digital images with associated data - Covers painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, architecture, humanities, & sciences - Includes software tools for teaching and research. | |
| Bridgeman Images | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Images - access photographic reproductions of paintings, sculpture, textiles, maps & anthropological artefacts + newer forms of media including early photography, newsreels & documentaries - every subject, concept, style or medium in collections from artists, national museums, private collections - Search or browse using industry leading metadata or key-word functions to discover high resolution images & clips that are accessible for users all over the world; registration required to purchase / download images. | |
| Google arts & culture | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Images - access the art works, cultural treasures & interiors of 1200+ leading museums worldwide - high-resolution images of 1.0+ million artworks & artifacts + virtual tours of thousands of galleries & other spaces in participating museums using Google's street-view technology - explore, through detailed images, historical sites, individuals, events & treasures. | |
| Web Gallery of Art | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 700-1899 available online: |
User Guide |
| Images - virtual museum & searchable database of European fine arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, tapestry, ceramics, metalwork, etc. - comprises almost 45,000 reproductions from Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Realism & Impressionism periods - includes picture commentaries, artist biographies, guided tours, period music & glossary. | |
Art Images - More Specifically |
|
| Art Discovery Group catalogue | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1800-present available online: |
|
| Catalogue - offers an art-focused research experience; the ADGC combines a database of records from art library catalogues + records from the SCIPIO database of art & rare book sales catalogues + additional art-focused WorldCat content from a multitude of online sources, journals, eBooks, databases, repositories - research resource for art-historical literature held in the finest art libraries worldwide: Europe, North America, Asia & Australia. | |
| Art resource | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Images - Over 1 million keyword-searchable fine art images - Covers painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts from the world's major museums, monuments, and commercial archives - Carries the works of almost every major museum in Europe - Official rights and permissions representative for many institutions in the United States and abroad. | |
| Atlas : base des oeuvres exposées = Atlas : the database of the exhibited works of art | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Images - Over 30,000 works of art exhibited in the Louvre - Covers the basic information displayed on museum labels together with authoritative commentary and analysis by the curators and staff. | |
| Everystockphoto.com | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1830-present available online: |
|
| Index - integrated search covering nearly 30 million freely licensed photographs from many sources - view a photo's license by clicking on the license icon, below & left of photos. | |
| Flickr. The commons | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1820-present available online: |
|
| Index, Images - Access growing image collection created through a Flickr / Library of Congress project to show hidden treasures in the world's public photography archives. | |
| Index of medieval art | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Images and Index - Over 60,000 images (color and black and white); Over 20,000 bibliographic records support these records - Includes manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and more - Covers works of art produced from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 - Focuses primarily on art of the western world. | |
| LIFE photo archive hosted by Google | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1750s-present available online: |
|
| Images - Millions of photographs from LIFE magazine's photo archive, searchable via Google. | |
| Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) collections online | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| The Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) in California highlights its permanent collection, which includes nearly 100,000 works of art that range from ancient times to the present day. Users may search the collection. The collection includes costumes, textiles, Islamic art, Japanese art, photography, and south and southeast Asian art. | |
| National Gallery of Art | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1200-present available online: |
|
| Images - website for the National Gallery of Art (U.S.) - access one of the world’s finest collections illustrating Western European & American achievements in painting, sculpture & the graphic arts from the late Middle Ages to modern times - includes images & full-text publications from NGA Collections, Exhibitions, Education programs, Research & Conservation. | |
| Open Content Program | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Images - more than 87,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content, including more than 72,000 from the Research Institute's Foto Arte Minore archive. Other images include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th-18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings. | |
| Parker Library on the web | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 6th to 18th century available online: |
|
| Index, images - Illuminated manuscripts + Anglo-Saxon, Anglo-Norman & Middle-English texts, and other manuscripts - Covers literature, theology, music, medieval travelogues & maps, apocalypses, bestiaries, royal ceremonies, historical chronicles & Bibles. | |
| Trove | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites. | |
| Visual Arts Data Service | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| Catalogue, images -- VADS offers a searchable catalog of image & other collections -- covers fine arts, design, architecture, applied arts, history & theory, media, museum studies & conservation, and professional practice. | |
Art Images - Also to Consider |
|
| BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1200-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text. | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| Prints & photographs online catalog | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Catalogue - Catalogue records and digital images held by the Prints & Photographs Division other units of the Library of Congress - Note that this is not an exhaustive listing of the holdings of the Prints & Photographs Division. | |