Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Fisheries - Try These First |
|
| ASFA : aquatic sciences and fisheries abstracts | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Covers fisheries, aquaculture, aquatic organisms, aquatic pollution, conservation & environmental quality, brackish & marine environments, marine biotechnology, oceanography, limnology & freshwater environments, maritime policy & legislation - over 1 million records describing journal articles, technical / government reports, books, conference publications. | |
| Federal Science Library | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1600-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - search library records from Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Environment & Climate Change Canada, Fisheries & Oceans Canada [WAVES], Health Canada, National Research Council Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Public Health Agency of Canada - covers books & e-books, journals & e-journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, standards … on environmental, physical & life sciences, fisheries & aquaculture, food & agriculture, earth sciences, forestry, geology, engineering & applied sciences, ocean & nautical sciences, technology, medicine & health sciences, business. | |
| Fish, fisheries & aquatic biodiversity worldwide | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World coverage on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries & aquaculture topics, including oceanography, aquatic biology, genetics, behaviour & fisheries management - Includes over 1,150,000 citations / abstracts describing journal articles, books, conference proceedings, theses & dissertations. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. | |
| Zoological record plus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1864- available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Covers world zoological & animal science literature: conservation & environmental science, evolution, biochemistry, genetics, biogeography, fossil record, marine & freshwater biology, parasitology & disease, reproduction, taxonomy & systematics, veterinary studies - comprises 2.5 million records describing journal articles, books/chapters, conference papers, reviews - Unofficial register of taxonomic names & systematics -- Thesaurus + Latin Names of Organisms Vocabulary. | |
Fisheries - More Specifically |
|
| AGRICOLA | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1970-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers all aspects of agriculture & allied disciplines, including animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. | |
| Agricultural & environmental science collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1660-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - cross-disciplinary resource indexing the global literature of environmental sciences & agricultural research - covers academic & trade journal articles, conference proceedings, government publications, technical reports, working papers, magazines, newspapers, wire feeds & other resources - full text is provided for much of AESD's content. | |
| AGRIS | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1975-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises more than 7.8 million records describing world research literature on agricultural research & technology - covers journal articles, conference papers, books, theses, data, statistics, multimedia material, etc. - subjects include aquaculture, fisheries, forestry, crop science, animal husbandry, food, human nutrition and more. | |
| Arctic Science and Technology Information System : ASTIS = Système d'information sur les sciences et les technologies arctique : SISTA | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 83,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers, theses, books, government reports, etc. on northern Canada & the circumpolar Arctic - subjects: earth sciences, biological & health sciences, engineering & technology, marine areas, politics, economic & social conditions, land use, indigenous peoples, traditional knowledge, archaeology, history, art & literature. | |
| Bibliography of Asian studies | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia - comprises 900,000+ records describing western-language journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. pertaining to East, Southeast & South Asia - Subjects: philosophy, religion, literature, history, fine arts, music, theatre, architecture, anthropology, archaeology, economics, politics, sociology, environmental sciences, public health & medicine. | |
| Biological abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1926-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprehensive coverage of life sciences research: botany, zoology, microbiology, biochemistry, clinical & experimental medicine, biophysics, and more - comprises 12+ million bibliographic records describing articles from over 4,200 scholarly journals - search by topic, author, source publication, publication year, address, taxonomic data, major concepts, concept codes, or other identifying codes. | |
| Biological science collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1809-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - monitors articles from 8,000+ scholarly, trade & popular journals, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs / books / chapters, government documents & patents - interdisciplinary database comprising 40 million records: animal behaviour, bacteriology & virology, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, molecular biology, plant science & mycology, aquatic organisms & marine biology, microbiology, entomology, zoology & ecology + aspects of agriculture & veterinary science + health, risk & safety sciences. | |
| Canadian business & current affairs database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present. | |
| Encyclopedia of life support systems | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2004-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - compendium of twenty multi-volume encyclopedias covering trans-disciplinary relationships between nature & human society - disciplinary & interdisciplinary articles cover environmental & health aspects of the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, engineering & technology ; discuss effective approaches for managing natural resources like renewable & non-renewable energy, biodiversity, ecology, hydrology, health, agriculture & more. | |
| FAOLEX | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Full-text - treaties, laws and regulations on food, agriculture & renewable natural resources worldwide - covers agriculture, livestock, environment, fisheries, food, forestry, land & soil, cultivated plants, water, wild species & ecosystems - records in English, French or Spanish or the language of communication used by the originating country. | |
| GreenFILE | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1910-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 538,000+ records describing well-researched scholarly articles, government & industry reports, & general-interest publications concerning human impacts on the environment - Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, environmental education, law, health &technology - Includes Open Access full text for more than 5,800 items. | |
| Invasive species compendium | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts, full-text - over 1500 full datasheets on invasive species and animal diseases have been developed for inclusion in the ISC - includes full text articles, a bibliographic database with links to over 75,000 abstracts and a glossary of over 780 terms and definitions. | |
| Management of the northern cod fishery : a guide to information sources | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1977-2017 available online: |
|
| Bibliography - guide for identifying & locating information resources that deal with the management of the Newfoundland cod fishery in the 2J3KL zone - majority of sources are of a social, political or economic nature, categorized by format & arranged chronologically or alphabetically depending on format. | |
| NAL catalog (AGRICOLA) | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1500-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - database produced by the National Agricultural Library comprising 5,200,000+ records describing journal articles, book, government reports, audiovisual materials & online content from around the world - covers agricultural & environmental sciences: animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant science, forestry, aquaculture, fisheries, farming systems, agricultural economics, extension education, food science, human nutrition, soil science, pesticides, natural resources, & pollution. | |
| NRC Research Press journals | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1929-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - 30+ current/ceased Canadian scholarly science/technology journals; most available in full-text - covers a broad range of biological & physical science, engineering & applied sciences disciplines - most articles from NRC Research Press journals (1951-2010) are freely available to all Canadians. | |
| Oceandocs : e-repository of ocean publications | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| Research & publications in marine science in digital form, including preprints, published articles, technical reports, working papers and more. OceanDocs is an e-repository (electronic repository) of scientific publications related to marine science and oceanography. The IODE OceanDocs is the Central repository of a global network of national and regional repositories. | |
| PAB : Newfoundland periodical article bibliography | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1668-present available online: |
|
| Index - Bibliography covering more than 90,000 periodical articles relating to Newfoundland and Labrador -- Maintained by the Centre for Newfoundland Studies, Memorial University Libraries. | |
| Science.gov : USA.gov for science | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Search engine, full-text - Federated search of 45+ databases and 2000+ websites from 14 U.S. federal agencies - Covers journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings & other published materials - Subjects: agriculture, applied sciences, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, communication, earth & ocean sciences, energy, environment, medicine, mathematics, physics. | |
| Sea Grant publications catalog | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1967-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - 49,000+ records describing Sea Grant-funded documents; 23,000+ available in full-text - cover oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, ship construction & nautical science - find topical full-text collections in Digital Libraries & Special Searches. | |
| Technical report archive and image library : TRAIL | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1800-1975 available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - access 40,000+U.S. federal scientific / technical reports issued prior to 1975 - search by series, date, subject or author - title records provide links to full-text available through the HathiTrust. | |
Fisheries - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic search complete | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| Academic video online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners. | |
| American doctoral dissertations | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1902-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed. | |
| Catalog of U.S. government publications | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1789-present available online: |
|
| Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992]. | |
| DART-Europe E-theses portal | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1602-present available online |
|
| Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database. | |
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links. | |
| Google scholar : [open access] | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - Open access version for remote, non-MUN users. | |
| IsisCB explore | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1974-2014 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises several hundred thousand citations describing works in the history of science - core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science - covers all fields of science, mathematics & engineering. | |
| Journal citation reports | |
|
Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories. | |
| Journal TOCs | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current issues available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher. | |
| Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976 | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1895-1976 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more . | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities. | |
| Web of science. SciELO citation index | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences. | |
| WorldCat | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded. | |
| WorldWideScience.org | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1930-present coverage available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts -- Global science gateway cross-searching 100+ U.S. & international scientific databases from over 70 countries - Covers fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment & basic sciences - links to full-text when available. | |